Community Action Plans: Supporting capability in North West Queensland communities

  • Man in cowboy hat looking up to orange skies
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

QCOSS is excited to be working with local communities in the North West of Queensland to help create locally led sustainable solutions toward prosperous communities. This work is part of the Queensland Government’s Strategic Blueprint for Queensland’s North West Minerals Province.

Along with the Department of Communities, Disability Services and Seniors, we are supporting communities within ten Local Government Areas (LGA) to develop their own Community Action Plans. Each plan will reflect local identity and goals and support regionally-driven activities to sustain and grow community wellbeing.

QCOSS will be working in the following areas:

  1. Burke
  2. Croydon
  3. Doomadgee (partnering with Department of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnership)
  4. Ethridge
  5. Mount Isa

In partnership with Community Recovery work:

  1. Cloncurry
  2. Carpentaria
  3. Flinders
  4. McKinlay
  5. Richmond

Development of the plans will be informed and led by local working groups, made up of community members who live and/or work within each area and can represent the views, concerns, and solutions of their communities.

QCOSS has decades of experience in the community services sector and in communities. We look forward to working together with local communities, businesses and organisations to create sustainable plans that reflect the strengths and identity of each region.

If you would like to be involved, please contact:

15 August 2019 |Focus area: |Location: |Service type: , |Cohort: